In the Summertime

My baby (Little C) and I are lucky to have this summer together, as I am on Maternity Leave. In Manitoba we get up to 6 months for maternity leave and 6 months for parental leave. Usually the mom applies for both and gets a year off to take care of the new baby. Daycare is hard to come by, so we put our name on the waiting lists for 2 local centers and hopefully Little C will get a spot before I go back to work in February!

There are SO many things to do in Manitoba this summer, it’s hard to group it all into sections and explore all our options. We won’t be doing any major traveling this year, as my husband (let’s call him Big C) and I went to Europe (Great Britain, France and Northern Ireland) for our honeymoon last year and we want to ‘lay low’ for a while. I have ideas for ‘big’ trips (I think I was an explorer or a sailor in a past life, I love to travel!) for our family, but we need to save the funds and figure out the practicalities of traveling with an infant.

Luckily for us, Manitoba is brimming with activities! Whether it’s berry picking or attending one of the many festivals or heading to the beach, there is no shortage of things to do! I’ll be documenting all the local things we have to offer under this big prairie sky in an effort to commemorate my time with Little (and Big!) C.

Leave a comment